top of page
Search
Writer's pictureEllie Hubbard

CYPRUS - Day 3 ⛰️

This blog is brought to you by Ellie.


I was very slow to wake up this morning. I’d had a restless night and had trouble getting to sleep. I’d like to think it wasn’t due to the one glass of wine and the one shot of coffee liqueur - though would anyone be surprised?


Barry went for another chilly swim whilst I floundered around getting ready for the day, then we walked over to breakfast together, where I actually took a photo of some of the offerings!

Another glorious breakfast ticked off, it was time to get in the car again. This time we were headed northeast into the mountains and were greeted by more spectacular views - some of which I saw, but I have been a very snoozy passenger today! I think part of it is that Barry prefers the car to be quite cool when he is driving, which leads me to get cosy underneath a blanket or a jumper. That is when I am in most danger of succumbing to slumber, and slumber I did.


Between snoozes, we saw some incredible sights and were on goat watch constantly. That is, there were warning signs to look out for goats.  No goats were harmed (to our relief) or witnessed (to our great disappointment).

We were on our merry way to hike a waterfall trail today. Now, I did a similar trail with Hannah six years ago, but as we have told almost everyone we know, we never found the bloody thing. It wasn’t a wasted hike though as the views and location were amazing, and as Hannah reminded me today, we had cake afterwards!

Barry had found a slightly different hike today, which was heading to the Kalidonia falls. As it turns out, it’s a stones throw from the previous one I did, but with a higher rate of waterfall success.

We found a little spot to park and of course said hello to more local felines. Peter was today’s favourite, greeting us at the beginning of the trail with loud purrs, but Percy might overtake him later, watch this space.

The trail was a steady and rocky uphill climb, which weaved and wound its way up the side of the hill and crossed the little babbling brook several times. Hills are my enemy, as you may know by now, but I managed this one without too much complaining and I would recommend it. There is an option to continue after the waterfall for a six kilometre round trip that’s much more tricky, but we weren’t really looking for more than the waterfall today.


I did twist my ankle just a little bit near the top. It could have been very tricky if it had been worse but I soon recovered after a rest at a well placed bench.


See if you can spot Henning in some of these:

When we eventually reached the waterfall we had a nice little rest and a nibble on a pastry I had swiped from the breakfast buffet. It was very pretty and serene, nothing massive like we’ve seen in the likes of Henning’s home of Norway. He wasn’t impressed…

The walk back down to the car was a little tricky at times - I often needed Barry’s helping hand to steady me when leaping from rock to rock!


When we made it back to the car, guess who was waiting for us on the bonnet of the car? Well it was Percy the cat of course! He was hoping for the top spot in our hearts and he may just have won.

Driving back down the hill, I told Barry to stop the car so I could take a snap of the Hannah & Ellie 2017 trail, so here it is! I recommend this one too, but wish you luck with finding the waterfall! Perhaps we gave up too soon and it was around the next corner.

I was once again snoozy on the drive back to the hotel (Amphora Hotel, by the way) and apparently missed some lovely sights. We had a rest in the room for a while before venturing out to find sustenance. I took a bit of persuading to walk to the restaurant but it was a lovely wander along the coast now that the wind has died down.


Today’s restaurant was my choice. It’s called King’s and is very highly rated on Trip Advisor. We were seated right over the water and near some patio heaters so it was a nice mix of warmth and cool sea air. I had a chicken kebab and Barry had the mixed grill which came with chicken & pork kebab, halloumi and mushroom. Both of our meals also came with fries, fresh pitta, a big lemon wedge and tzatziki. It was really delicious, another one we would recommend! We did briefly get serenaded by a local musician playing his bouzouki, which I feel like, as Brits, always feels awkward. But he was a very sweet old man who played very well and he disappeared quickly!


We finished the meal with a traditional Cypriot wine liqueur which was very good and tasted exactly like raisins.

It was a leisurely amble back to the hotel with full bellies and full hearts. It has been another wonderful day in Cyprus. See you tomorrow for a much more chilled day, for a change!

37 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page